First-Offense DWI Attorney
If you have been charged with a DWI offense for the first time, you likely have many questions about potential penalties you face and how to mount a successful defense strategy. As a DWI defense lawyer with more than 20 years of experience, I, Bobby Dale Barina, can help you understand how the law applies in your circumstances, and be your strong advocate throughout the process. I am committed to helping my clients avoid the consequences of a first-time drunk driving conviction.
Penalties For First-Time DWI Charges In Texas
Texas courts show little leniency to first-time DWI offenders. Criminal punishments for first-time drunk driving offenses include:
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- 72 hours to six months jail time
- Driver’s license suspension
- Community service
Judges may also impose other conditions such as alcohol counseling, drug and alcohol evaluation, and victim impact panel. While the facts of your case will determine the exact penalties you face, the consequences of a conviction will significantly impact your life, including your finances, your insurance rates, your driving privileges and your freedom.
Defending Your Rights
If you have been charged with a first-time drunk driving offense, it may be tempting to accept a plea bargain and attempt to put the situation behind you. This can be a grave mistake. There are proven defense strategies I can help you explore, even if the evidence against you seems strong.
I am a board-certified criminal law attorney who has handled hundreds of DWI cases for clients in Bell County and throughout surrounding Texas communities. I will explore every possible defense strategy, including challenging the stop, arrest, blood and breath test evidence, and field sobriety test.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 15 min phone consultation (254) 699-3755